Media formats for product images and secondary images are subject to clear production rules in order to be used directly in professional applications in all required scenarios. For example, the media objects must have a correct crop and sufficient pixels. The white space in product images also needs attention. We are happy to take care of all this work before the data is available in the system.

Other formats such as videos and documents can also be processed. The data is generated in the system with a preview that allows to recognize which file it is. In addition, all the necessary metadata as well as filters and types are included in order to be able to find media easily and quickly.

The authorization system corresponds to the logic and functionality in the PIM system. Authorization is independent of whether the system is running as a stand-alone DAM or in conjunction with the PIM system. For a more detailed explanation of the authorization logic based on groups and roles, please refer to the Authorizations page.

Besides the sophisticated permission logic, there is a special feature in DAM. The so called public area. With this function, every media object can be made freely accessible with limited functionality. This means that the media object is available in the system without a login. The background of this function is that often data sets must be freely accessible for legal reasons. For example, safety data sheets or other data. The DAM system therefore allows data sets to be controlled or made freely accessible only by authorization.

Custom fields allow the creation of field types such as text free field, dropdown or checkboxes. The background is that customer requirements often vary. For the individual needs, a DAM system must create the possibility to create own fields and assign them to the media objects. A typical assignment is the EAN/GTIN. This also enables the media objects to be assigned to each other or, if the PIM system is used, to be related to the product data records.

The download options in the system are direct single download, collection of data in data baskets and download and provision of data via PIN. All options are based on so-called download formats. These formats allow the creation of individual formats, e.g. different pixel values or a different file format, such as PNG with transparency with correct original format. In many cases the actual basic formats are sufficient. But the download formats serve another purpose.

They allow to configure file names in the download. I.e. the generated filename can be set individually based on the own fields or metadata. For example, if a retailer always needs the EAN/GTIN at the beginning and then an individual value, this can also be realized in the system.

The archive is a function that automatically archives media objects based on the publication data. If an expiration date is set, the data set is automatically moved to the archive when this date is reached. Users with archive permission, usually the company’s own employees, can then continue to access the data. However, typical external users then no longer have access to the data.

Images, videos, etc. are often subject to copyrights. These rights have a term and usually a limitation of the purpose. All these details can be maintained in the system and also provided with a term. Here, too, the archive function takes effect. If the buyout has expired, it is automatically archived.

Manage media in one place

24356

Media Objects has the currently largest instance of our DAM system.

18798

Products are linked to media in a customer system.


Input

Import data from various sources.

Structure

Store in a structured way in the DAM system.

Relations

Relationally link to each other and to products.

Usability

Filter easily and find quickly.

FAQ – Important questions at a glance

The integration of a DAM system always starts with an in-depth consultation on goals and challenges. Often it starts with a demo from our side. Gladly also for several divisions, because the integration is almost always cross-divisional. No matter if marketing, sales or even other organizational areas. Ideally, the media data must be set up in an optimized way. For this purpose, we have defined clear specifications that help to integrate and provide optimized data.

This always depends on the license and the associated requirements. Generally, there are levels of licensing for dynamicDAM® for maximum storage amounts up to an enterprise license for global use (all countries) and without limitation of the data amount.

The basic license is always calculated on the level of a full flat license on a monthly basis including hosting. I.e. it is not licensed per user. This also eliminates the issue that costs are incurred per user and their rights.

The system can be used for both user groups. This is one of the great advantages of our systems. Through the authorizations and other functions, the system can also be an optimal solution for integrating external partners or providing them directly with data.

The core of the philosophy is that the many mostly global systems always contain only part of the relevant data. This means that employees often have to manually search for the data in various systems. This is the first major digitization step with the DAM system to a single point of information for media data.

The DAM system structures the organization, storage and distribution of media data. In this respect, all tools that previously took over parts of these services are replaced. In addition, the agency’s content services can also be used to optimize and adjust the data, which in turn frees up capacities in the company.

The introduction of a DAM system often defines new processes in the company. After all, the implementation of a DAM system is about improving workflows and processes as well as digitizing work steps. This is where the biggest challenge lies, as employees in companies have been working in familiar processes for years.

Regardless of whether this is still in keeping with the times, you have to take into account that for employees these are familiar and learned ways. These don’t have to be bad in principle, but they usually reach their limits. The task now is to convince them that the introduction of a DAM system is the right and necessary step.

Communication is everything. Employees should be integrated and picked up at an early stage in order to be able to quickly address resentments and possible concerns and to point out the advantages of the future work steps.

Absolutely. We are not “content buyers” or aggregators who want to sell content. Our systems are always set up individually for the customer, designed in the CI/CD and hosted on separate systems. In addition, all content remains the property of the customer or the respective licensees.

We are the PIM consultants, the DAM consultants and, as a digital agency, the leading authority for the integration and operation of the systems. This is almost more important than the system itself. We experience again and again how important it is to have a competent partner at your side.

Distribute media objects

5

Ways to get data from the system. Download, data basket, PIN, formats and API.

1000

Possibilities to prepare this data for retailers, partners and own employees.


Datacart

Collect media and process them customer-oriented.

PIN

Create custom links and send them personally.

Formats

Customize download formats to customers.

API

Use interfaces and automate data.

DIGITAL PERFORMANCE

Performance

dietz.digital wants to offer its customers the performance that digital tools and digital know-how provide today.

Performance Services
DAM-SYSTEM STORY

Product Data

Media data management must be digitally supported. After all, optimal data also leads to optimal sales.

DAM Database
MEETING

Consultancy

Book an initial consultation about our philosophy on DAM system integration with Oliver Dietz here.

Book a meeting

Medienformate für Produktbilder und Zweitabbildungen unterliegen eindeutigen Produktions-Regeln, um im professionellen Einsatz in allen erforderlichen Szenarien direkt eingesetzt werden zu können. Die Medienobjekte müssen z.B. einen korrekten Freisteller sowie ausreichend Pixel haben. Auch der Weißraum bei Produktbildern benötigt Aufmerksamkeit. Alle diese Arbeiten werden von uns gerne betreut, bevor die Daten im System verfügbar sind.

Weitere Formate wie Videos und Dokumente können ebenso verarbeitet werden. Die Daten werden im System mit einer Vorschau erzeugt, die es erlaubt zu erkennen, um welche Datei es sich handelt. Hinzu kommen alle erforderlichen Metadaten sowie Filter und Typen, um Medien einfach und schnell finden zu können.

Das Berechtigungssystem entspricht der Logik und Funktionsweise im PIM-System. Die Berechtigung erfolgt losgelöst davon, ob das System als Stand-alone DAM läuft oder im Zusammenspiel mit dem PIM-System. Für eine detailliertere Erläuterung der Berechtigungslogik auf der Basis von Gruppen und Rollen, bitte auf der Seite Berechtigungen nachschauen.

Neben der ausgefeilten Berechtigungslogik, gibt es im DAM eine Besonderheit. Den sog. öffentlichen Bereich. Mit dieser Funktion kann jedes Medienobjekt in eingeschränkter Funktionalität frei zugänglich geschaltet werden. Damit ist das Medienobjekt ohne einen Login im System verfügbar. Der Hintergrund dieser Funktion ist, dass häufig Datensätze aus rechtlichen Gründen frei zugänglich sein müssen. So z.B. Sicherheitsdatenblätter oder weitere Daten. Das DAM-System erlaubt es also, Datensätze nur durch Berechtigung zu steuern oder frei zugänglich zu schalten.

Eigene Felder erlauben die Anlage von Feldtypen wie Text Freifeld, Dropdown oder Checkboxen. Der Hintergrund ist, dass die Kundenanforderungen oftmals variieren. Für die individuellen Bedürfnisse muss ein DAM-System die Möglichkeit schaffen, eigene Felder anzulegen und diese den Medienobjekten zuzuweisen. Eine typische Zuordnung ist die EAN/GTIN. Hierüber wird auch die Zuweisung der Medienobjekte untereinander oder aber bei Nutzung des PIM-Systems die Relation zu den Produktdatensätzen ermöglicht.

Die Download-Optionen im System sind direkter Einzel-Download, Sammlung der Daten in Datenkörben und Download sowie Bereitstellung der Daten via PIN. Alle Möglichkeiten basieren auf sog. Download-Formaten. Diese Formate erlauben die Erstellung von individuellen Formaten, also z.B. andere Pixelwerte oder ein anderes Dateiformat, wie PNG mit Transparenz bei korrekten Originalformat. In vielen Fällen sind die eigentlichen Grundformate ausreichend. Die Download-Formate erfüllen aber einen weiteren Zweck.

Sie erlauben Dateinamen im Download zu konfigurieren. D.h., dass der generierte Dateiname anhand der eigenen Felder oder Metadaten individuell gesetzt werden kann. Braucht ein Retailer z.B. immer am Anfang die EAN/GTIN und dann folgend einen individuellen Wert, so kann das ebenfalls im System realisiert werden.

Das Archiv ist eine Funktion, die auf der Basis der Veröffentlichungsdaten automatisch Medienobjekte archiviert. Wird ein Ablaufdatum gesetzt, so wird bei Erreichen dieses Datums der Datensatz automatisch ins Archiv verschoben. Nutzer mit Archivberechtigung, meistens die eigenen Mitarbeiter, können dann weiterhin auf die Daten zugreifen. Die typischen externen Nutzer haben dann aber keinen Zugriff mehr auf die Daten.

Bilder, Videos etc. unterliegen häufig Urheberrechten. Diese Rechte haben eine Laufzeit und meist eine Limitierung des Einsatzzweckes. Alle diese Angaben können im System gepflegt und ebenso mit einer Laufzeit versehen werden. Auch hier greift die Archiv-Funktion. Ist das Buyout ausgelaufen, wird automatisch archiviert.

Medien zentral verwalten

24356

Medienobjekte hat die zurzeit größte Instanz unseres DAM-Systems.

18798

Produkte sind bei einem Kundensystem mit Medien verknüpft.


Input

Daten aus diversen Quellen importieren.

Struktur

Strukturiert im DAM-System ablegen.

Verknüpfung

Untereinander und mit Produkten relational verknüpfen.

Usability

Einfach filtern und schnell finden.

FAQ – Wichtige Fragestellungen auf einen Blick

Die Integration eines DAM-Systems beginnt immer mit einer eingehenden Beratung zu Zielen und Herausforderungen. Oftmals startet es mit einer Demo von unserer Seite. Gerne auch für mehrere Unternehmensbereiche, denn die Integration ist fast immer bereichsübergreifend. Egal ob Marketing, Vertrieb oder auch andere organisatorische Bereiche. Die Mediendaten müssen idealerweise optimiert eingestellt werden. Hierfür haben wir klare Vorgaben definiert, die helfen, optimierte Daten einzubinden und bereitzustellen.

Das hängt immer von der Lizenz und den damit verbundenen Anforderungen ab. Generell gibt es für dynamicDAM® Stufen der Lizenzierung für maximale Speichermengen bis hin zu einer Enterprise-Lizenz für globale Nutzung (alle Länder) und ohne Begrenzung der Datenmenge.

Die grundsätzliche Lizenz wird immer auf der Ebene einer Full-Flat-Lizenz auf monatlicher Basis inkl. Hosting berechnet. D.h es wird nicht pro Nutzer lizenziert. Somit entfällt auch die Thematik, dass pro Nutzer und dessen Rechte Kosten entstehen.

Für beide Nutzerkreise ist das System einsetzbar. Gerade das ist einer der großen Vorteile unserer Systeme. Durch die Berechtigungen und weitere Funktionen kann das System auch eine optimale Lösung sein, um externe Partner einzubinden oder diese direkt mit Daten zu versorgen.

Kern der Philosophie ist es, dass die vielen meist globalen Systeme immer nur teilweise die relevanten Daten enthalten. D.h., dass Mitarbeiter oftmals in diversen Systeme sich die Daten manuell zusammensuchen müssen. Das ist der erste große Digitalisierungs-Schritt mit dem DAM-System zu einem Single-Point-of-Information für Mediendaten.

Das DAM-System strukturiert die Organisation, Ablage und Verteilung von Mediendaten. Insofern werden alle Tools ersetzt, die bisher Teile dieser Leistungen übernehmen. Zudem kann durch Content-Leistungen der Agentur auch die Optimierung und Einstellung der Daten erfolgen, was wiederum freie Kapazitäten im Unternehmen ermöglicht.

Die Einführung eines DAM-Systems definiert häufig neue Prozesse im Unternehmen. Es geht bei der Umsetzung eines DAM-Systems ja um eine Verbesserung der Workflows und Prozesse sowie um eine Digitalisierung der Arbeitsschritte. Hier liegt die größte Herausforderung, da die Mitarbeiter in Unternehmen über Jahre hinweg in gewohnten Prozessen arbeiten.

Unabhängig davon, ob dies noch zeitgemäß ist, muss man berücksichtigen, dass es für die Mitarbeiter gewohnte und gelernte Wege sind. Diese müssen nicht prinzipiell schlecht sein, aber kommen meist an ihre Grenzen. Es gilt nun zu überzeugen, dass die Einführung eines DAM-Systems der richtige und notwendige Schritt ist.

Kommunikation alles ist. Die Mitarbeiter sollten früh integriert und abgeholt werden, um Ressentiments und mögliche Sorgen schnell adressieren zu können und auf die Vorteile der zukünftigen Arbeitsschritte zu verweisen.

Auf jeden Fall. Wir sind keine „Content-Käufer“ oder Aggregatoren, die Content verkaufen wollen. Unsere System werden immer individuell für den Kunden aufgesetzt, im CI/CD gestaltet und auf separaten Systemen gehostet. Zudem bleiben alle Inhalte im Besitz und Eigentum des Kunden oder der jeweiligen Lizenznehmer.

Wir sind die PIM-Berater, die DAM-Berater und als Digitalagentur die führende Instanz für die Integration und den Betrieb der Systeme. Das ist fast schon wichtiger als das System selbst. Wir erleben immer wieder, wich wichtig es ist, einen kompetenten Partner an der Seite zu haben.

Medienobjekte optimal verteilen

5

Wege, Daten aus dem System zu erhalten. Download, Datenkorb, PIN, Formate und API.

1000

Möglichkeiten, diese Daten für Retailer, Partner und eigene Mitarbeiter aufzubereiten.


Datenkorb

Medien sammeln und kundenorientiert weiterverarbeiten.

PIN

Individuelle Links erstellen und persönlich versenden.

Formate

Download-Formate auf Kunden anpassen.

API

Schnittstellen nutzen und Daten automatisieren.

DIGITALE PERFORMANCE

Performance

dietz.digital will seinen Kunden die Performance bieten, die digitale Tools und digitales Know-how heute bieten.

Performance Leistungen
DAM-SYSTEM STORY

Produktdaten

Mediendaten-Management muss digital unterstützt werden. Denn mit optimalen Daten wird auch optimal verkauft.

DAM Datenbank
ERSTBERATUNG

Beratung

Jetzt einen Erst-Beratungstermin über unsere Philosophie bei der DAM-System-Integration mit Oliver Dietz hier buchen.

Beratung buchen